Struggling to be Half as Good

First, a number of apologies. I’m sorry I’ve not posted any updates on my progress for a while; I’m sorry that I haven’t set any new challenges; and I’m sorry that despite promising a while ago that I wouldn’t go on about various aches and pains, I’m now going to do exactly that!

I was always aware that the half as good challenge was going to be a tough way to gain some fitness after being well mashed by a dozy car driver. I thought that it would be tough in a good way though. I thought that it would be challenging, but also push me to get active again and gain some strength and stamina. For some of the activities, that has been true. The swimming and the cycling have been great. To be honest, I think that those are activities where I have the experience to be able to push myself through technique without resorting to strength. I certainly found the swimming tough, but it was my breathing and general fitness that was holding me back more than my physical state.

In contrast, the running (even though it was only 100m) left me in a pretty sore state! I was really surprised how long I hurt after those few sprints. And as for the shot put… Well, it was a nice thought that it would suddenly make my shoulder feel better. In fact, what it has done is underlined the fact that the road to recovery is long and winding and it requires quite a few stop-offs on the way. At the moment I can’t seem to make my knee any better and I’m sure my shoulder is getting worse.

I’ve been putting off admitting it, but I can’t hide it any longer. I’m not up to the half as good challenge. Not yet. For this year I’m bailing out.

This doesn’t mean that I’m buying a flat screen tv and living the rest of my life on the sofa. At the moment I’m going to yoga once a week. I’ve also bought a mean massage machine to batter myself into shape, and I’m going to start swimming again.

I think I might give it six months and try again. Anyone interested in The Half as Good Decathlon 2014?

One thought on “Struggling to be Half as Good

Leave a comment